How to work with sword power weaver in open world solo PvE?

Friend.2837

Hey all, I'm quite new to the game but I've been learning pretty quickly, and am having an absolute blast playing elementalist. I love the feeling of adapting to situations with different elements + skill chains. I realize it's not the "best" class right now but I enjoy the class enough not to mind.

I levelled to 80 with dagger + dagger elementalist before switching to a power sword + dagger elementalist. I'm doing champions and minibosses much faster now, but am having a lot of trouble against groups. Against single enemies, I can leverage dodges + arcane shield + twist of fate to avoid attacks altogether, so even in more difficult HoT content I've been managing.

When I have to deal with multiple however (esp. the ranged dart frogs in Verdant Brink), I just get overwhelmed; I don't really have big AoE or the ability to jump around a lot (like on dagger + dagger) to split up enemies. I also find earth attunement Glyph of Storms to be much harder to open with (since opening in main hand earth attunement is a bit awkward). I also no longer have my offhand dagger's water attunement cleanse / earth attunement CC on demand anymore, which makes life a lot harder.

I try to cycle through air -> fire + air -> fire, which is amazing single target damage, but I end up needing to dodge constantly while frequently switching to water + earth to avoid dying, at which point I kill things slower than dagger + dagger.

I'm assuming I'm missing things here... is there some mechanic or technique I don't know of that I should be using?

Thanks in advance people!

My current build:

- Sword + dagger, mix of berserker / marauder + vampirism runes (planning to switch to scholar once I get more marauder pieces).
- Arcane shield, twist of fate, primordial stance, summon elemental.
- Air + water + weaver specializations.

Edited by Friend.2837
  • Like 2
  • Haha 1