Bad time at Dragons' Stand

Hello, I've been playing Guild Wars 2 for the past four years, usually solo.

I acquired a commander's tag a few weeks ago, mainly to attract other players to me when I find an event in the morning while doing my dailies.

Yesterday evening I wanted to do Dragon's Stand. We were few players and there was only one commander.

As I could see that no one else was putting a tag, I tagged up, to help, and I started in the south lane.

Everything went well up to the Tower.

There, things got complicated and I ended up seeing insults on the map chat, towards me, harsh and hurtful insults. I logged out.

I know Dragon's Stand very well, however. I've done the meta hundreds of times, on all lanes.

But it turns out that I am autistic (Asperger's syndrome) and that finding myself as a commander puts me in a state of deep embarrassment, confuses me.

People without autism probably cannot understand this.

Leading other players is something that is difficult and totally foreign to me.

I absolutely do not have the mental of a "commander".

In addition, I am French, and I speak poor English, which means that I refrain from giving instructions in map chat.

Nothing serious, of course. But despite everything these insults hurt me.

Maybe it bears repeating: don't forget that there is a real human being behind the toon, an individual with their frailties and vulnerability, who is just trying to participate in the game like you.

• Like 18
  • Thanks 3
  • Confused 1
  • Sad 1

I'm sorry you had this experience.