Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Why can't i remove the lvl 80 boost from a shared inventory slot? [merged]


Recommended Posts

I preordered EoD, got the shared inventory slot, but i also got a lvl 80 boost in it that i have no characters to use on...

Why is it mandatory to have this in the shared slot? Why can't i move it to my bank and use later, while using the shared slot for something else?

 

What happens if i use it on a lvl 80 character, does something different happen? Do i get something out of it?

Or do i now need to go buy a character slot, make a character that i'll probably never play, just so i can spend the boost and use a shared inventory slot?

Edited by Veprovina.4876
  • Like 4
  • Confused 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Rasimir.6239 said:

You can just use the boost on an existing lvl 80 character. It'll give you the equipment, bags, etc. that a boosted character would've gotten, which you can then decide to use or trash at your convenience.

That's a waste of the boost then because all of that is either character bound and can't even be salvaged, or i have better items already on my characters... 

I just fail to see why the boost needs to be in the shared slot.

  • Like 6
  • Thanks 2
  • Confused 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Telgum.6071 said:

It's designed to be like that, don't know why. You'll get your shared slot empty once you use the booster.

Yes, apparently it's designed to gouge money out of people by forcing them to buy character slots so they can get rid of it...

  • Like 7
  • Haha 1
  • Confused 4
Link to post
Share on other sites

My guess is they put it into a shared slot and made it impossible to delete or remove without using it because it's very likely to be the first valuable or important item new players get and therefore the one most likely to get accidentally lost or deleted. Even if you couldn't delete the item itself players could put it in their inventory then delete the character. Then they'd be contacting support to get it back, which would waste their time.

As other people have said if you don't want it you can just use it on an existing character who is already level 80. They'll get a full set of exotic gear with celestial stats and the Level-80 Boost Package which contains 2g, some dyes, food and 5 teleport to friend items, among other things. All of that can be kept or deleted if you don't want it. (Their actual equipment and skills won't be changed, the boost equipment goes into their inventory.)

  • Like 8
  • Thanks 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
2 hours ago, The Boz.2038 said:

...you got the shared slot for free. It's a free gift. If you value it above the booster, delete the booster. 

...the item you can't delete, you mean?

Thankfully they stack, so each additional booster only takes the existing slot up. Dumb design choice.

  • Like 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
4 minutes ago, Fueki.4753 said:

I suspect this is done so Arenanet can squeeze the purchase of a character slot out of some players.

You can use it on a level 80 character. The items from the boost are worthless. 

  • Like 2
  • Confused 1
  • Sad 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
On 1/25/2022 at 1:29 PM, The Boz.2038 said:

...you got the shared slot for free. It's a free gift. If you value it above the booster, delete the booster. 

It's promoted as something you get for buying the expansion. It's not free. It's included in a 30$ purchase.

I see no reason to why the boost is locked untill you use it. Seems like a valid criticism to me.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2
  • Confused 4
  • Sad 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

i imagine it was to do with how the "trial" is coded. you use the "trial" by clicking on the boost (in the shared slot) then your character is "locked" into Silverwastes zone until you either end the trial or consume the boost to make it permanent. if you want to "trial" all the classes, you can, but only one class at a time. if you trial these classes by deleting the previous trial character and use the same character slot, wouldn't it suck if you accidentally deleted the boost when deleting the character? with the 25$US boost "locked" into a shared storage slot until consumed, you can never accidentally delete it by deleting a trial character., and therefore never accidentally delete a 25$US item. I imagine there's more to it than that. But it makes things tons easier for customer service to not have to waste time on accidents, and makes it a lot easier for players to trial different classes without having to remember where the boost is.

  • Like 4
Link to post
Share on other sites

Edit: Yes, I realized the misunderstanding. I thought they had changed the conditions of usability for the item since the people posting before me made it sound like it was changed. Apparently not - you can still use the boost on any character.

Edited by Ashantara.8731
  • Like 1
  • Confused 3
  • Sad 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
8 minutes ago, Ashantara.8731 said:

Only that you can't. :classic_rolleyes: You have to use it.

You can't if you don't have a free character slot left, though...

This.

You do know that you can activate it on any character 80 or below so no you dont need to have a character slot free.

  • Like 1
  • Sad 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
1 minute ago, Linken.6345 said:

You do know that you can activate it on any character 80 or below so no you dont need to have a character slot free.

Didn't the previous posters just explain that they couldn't do that? :classic_blink:

I assumed it had been changed since they made this claim. Of course, if it still works the old way, then you are 100% correct.

  • Confused 3
  • Sad 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
12 hours ago, jokke.6239 said:

It's promoted as something you get for buying the expansion. It's not free. It's included in a 30$ purchase.

I see no reason to why the boost is locked untill you use it. Seems like a valid criticism to me.

It is literally not promoted, or mentioned, on any sale page. Level 80 boost? Sure. Shared slot? Nope.

  • Thanks 1
  • Confused 1
  • Sad 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
9 hours ago, Ashantara.8731 said:

Didn't the previous posters just explain that they couldn't do that? :classic_blink:

I assumed it had been changed since they made this claim. Of course, if it still works the old way, then you are 100% correct.

You can use it. You get free gear, a bag, 2 gold, random stuff. You also get boosted to 80, but you already are that.

Above poster "corrected" me saying "delete", because you can't "right-click and delete" the item. I just didn't feel the need to write out "use the item on any character, and then delete the items the booster gives you that you do not need, and keep the ones that are valuable". The willingness to engage in bad faith readings and sophistry on this forum will never cease to amaze me.

  • Like 1
  • Sad 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

I just bought the collection. My character is lvl 76. I have no interest in creating 2 new characters right now, and don't exactly want to play this character, potentinally for years, with the boosts permanently stuck in my inventory.

I just paid 50$ for a game. Make the boosts available via some menu or something, let me put it in my bank or an alts inventory.

This is ridiculous.

Edited by infamous.8024
  • Like 7
  • Thanks 1
  • Confused 3
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Forum Moderator.5021 changed the title to Why can't i remove the lvl 80 boost from a shared inventory slot? [merged]

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
×
×
  • Create New...