Ranked Arena - Losing More Than Gaining

So after the balance patch has been dropped for the Vindicator and The Engineer Mech I started playing Ranked arena.

Now the placement macthes was horrible, it felt like I was constantly matched against vets and was getting rollered by the enemy team. The matches I did win felt like pure luck and nothing of a rough MMR based match-up. Seeing as i have played quite a few unranked matches I would assume there would have some MMR score that would balance the placement matches. I know the ANet mentioned that the PvP and WvW will get more developer love witch makes me happy. However, If they aren't gonna work on the match making I don't know how fun the PvP Ranked scene will be. Don't get me wrong, I know there are still a few professions that need to be balanced but there is no point in having balanced professions if low ranking players gets matched with high rank player it feels like all their classes are unbalanced.

Now, once I got my rank stuff did get better. It did feel like the match-ups were more fair which was at least a breath of fresh air. The issue now comes in that the points given feels like I am in a deadlock. So I will win a few matches and move close to the next rank and then the matches I lose it drops me back to where I was placed. It got to the point where win matches simply to maintain my placement score. Then when there are close matches that I win, one would think that you would get more points seeing as it was a good match-up and both teams were roughly on the same 'skill' cap but no, I can just just make back what I lost.

Like how can they expect a player to gain a rank when when you are giving scoremarks in such a way that you just constantly hover around your placement rank. Like by no means am I an exceptional PvP player but this score system is just blatently disheartning. Like I just want a system that can better represent my skill and my team's skill better.

• Like 1