Mechanist Feels Like A More Powerful Power Scrapper

Ashen.2907

I am not an engineer expert or anything but playing around on my Mechanist feels an awful lot, aesthetics aside, like a more powerful version of my Scrapper. Charge into melee so that your attacks can generate sustain, pound away at your foe dazing/stunning as you go, profit. Doing more damage and with greater sustain. Don't get me wrong it is fun to play, but does scrapper have a reason to exist any longer?

• Thanks 1
  • Confused 2

I wouldn't call it more powerful, just different, but I do see what you mean.  Support boons, barrier generation but for a group, and a lot of power is in the Mech which takes pressure off of you.  Quickness Scrapper though has group Superspeed and Quickness, it's FAST.  Different but similar.  And, RP wise, I kind of love it, because what is a Scrapper vs Mechanist, someone who focuses more on fast results instead of organized precision and look at Superspeed/Quickness vs Alacrity (faster repetition) and a single more powerful piece of tech instead of multiple little bots.   Very similar, but filling different roles.

Edited by Jerus.4350
  • Like 3

Jade bot can make use of guided rocket from explosive trait if you choose him to be ranged. (2x rocket each 4 sec). Decent condi play, but bot is boring. Just make traits to upgrade bot stats and behavior. Nerf him and bring back engi toolbelts. It is really ez to play as mechanic with high survivability and big dmg. 

• Like 1
  • Confused 6

Do more DPS on your scrapper then, 10K+ should set you above mechanists on the same gear even in PVE (5% damage to barrier) and that is before shock shield (hammer 4). Mechanists' mace has below 300 per second of barrier unless you run heal power stats and have external quickness, plus ~260ish on the rectifier signet. If you run barrier engine on power mechanist you tank DPS further.