Most efficient way for new player to get Skyscale?

Wife and I recently started playing. We are level capped and just finished the PoF story and working on LS4. 

We understand the Skyscale grind is long and we're up for it, but all the guides are very confusing, assuming we know and understand terms like "Return Achievements", "Charged Quartz Crystal dailies", "home instance farming", etc. We're new and quite overwhelmed!

We also understand there are some efficiencies to gathering up materials we will later need, while we are working on the LS4 story. But we're having a hard time deciphering them.

Is there a step-by-step guide that can help us understand an efficient way of getting to our goal while we are working on LS4? 

Thanks in advance for any insights or suggestions. We are loving this game (omg, the PoF story was wonderful), but still learning the environment.

Skyscale/Walkthrough - Guild Wars 2 Wiki (GW2W)

This is pretty comprehensive for what you need to do.  The only thing you can collect in LS4 before the Skyscale quests is the Currency which you use to buy the Saddle near the end of the quest chain.

The other item you can start working on is the Charged Quartz Crystal since that is time gated.  I guess you could collect or buy the other pieces for the Skyscale Food as well.

• Like 5

I recommend doing the Season 4 "Return To" story achievements.

• You need all of the Season 4 episodes to get the Skyscale anyway.

• Completing each section will give you a ton of resources related to that map, which you need for Skyscale stuff.

• Doing all of the "Return To" sequence will also give you a pretty cool legendary amulet that you can use on all of your characters.

Beyond that, it's just a matter of deciding whether you want to do a bunch of jumping puzzles or spend gold crafting the skyscales snacks that let you bypass them. In most cases you are better off just doing the puzzles.

• Like 4

1 hour ago, alteriel valie.4751 said:

<...>