Is Barrier Wanted?

Jalad Lantana.3027

Started playing Engineer Mech recently and doing Strikes for the first time, and made this build based on several videos and forum posts.

What do you call this build, crap? or ?

It survives fine in Strikes.  All I see in the log is giving lots of barrier to the squad,  but it is hard to tell how much if any alacrity, regen or healing is going out.

I am new to Strikes so have no clue, is this a wanted build or is it dragging down groups?  If so, what build do you suggest that pulls it's weight?

Edited by Jalad Lantana.3027

So, yeah, Barrier is great, it keeps scholar buff up better than healing, and we always have healing options we can fall back on. 

Overall your build looks very hybrid and not optimized.  It's mostly healer build gear/traits, but without the healing utilities, and then focusing on Confusion but without condi damage.  Mechanist can do a lot of different things, but it's best to focus things a bit. 

Normally I'd suggest Magi over Clerics, just in case you decided to raid, but for anything else, clerics works fine.  For the heal/support build of course Harrier is in general the best choice but that's much more expensive and more something to work towards.  What you're lacking gear wise for converting this into a heal/support build is boon duration which you can get cheaply by swapping to Rebirth Runes (10s each right now).  Then Force Sigil just isn't going to be doing much for you with your low offensive stats, swap that to Transference ideally.  Then it's just swapping traits and utilities with Elixir Gun (for 5 skill which is a healing field) and Mortar Kit (again 5 skill is a healing field) and you have a solid heal/support build. 

You end up with this: http://gw2skills.net/editor/?Pe0Ak6plxy8YtMXWKeyTXRVA-zRIYvSGTB+QqQEUtCIdJgd/ABtAUyZxvhN-e

Shift Signet and Barrier Signet can change as needed, like Thumper Turret (give it a few seconds to do the second thump) or Personal Battering Ram for CC.