Dungeons can actually be fun for new players

I recently started playing again after a very long break and tried to refresh my memory on the story connected to the various dungeons. Unfortunately I found, that most groups just rush trough stuff like crazy, meaning that you'll miss the boss fight if you watch the cutscene (if you're not getting vote-kicked, that is). I ended up doing some of the dungeons solo then to understand their mechanics to a satisfying degree but that's not something a beginner could realistically pull of.

Therefore I opened a group for Ascalonian Catacombs story path yesterday and advertised it as "new players welcome". One of the players that joined soon after apologized beforehand that he is new and doesn't know his way around, so I calmed him down. 5 Minutes later the 4 of us ventured into the instance and I patiently waited till everyone watched their cutscenes. Along the way I made sure to briefly explain what we are doing, e.g. "we need to put a rock on this plate for the gate to stay open". After a relaxing run they all thanked me in chat and/or /bowed before me and one was even asking "all all dungeons this good?"

The latter got me thinking. The leveling experience is nice and all, but most of the time it's the first group experiences that get players hooked in MMOs. And while you have group events in the open world, the player interaction is mostly superficial. So next time you feel that dungeon itch, consider making it a great experience for everyone - it doesn't take much extra effort :)

• Like 14
  • Thanks 5
  • Haha 1
  • Confused 1
  • Sad 1

You can LFG with "watching cutscenes" or "first time", and you'll quickly find players who are totally fine with it - I've actually never met anyone since the token merge (that's since I started playing again) who had an issue with that.  People were actually extra helpful to carry through mobs or answer new / returning player questions, too. I'm playing on NA.