Is power berserker w/ hammer viable?

Lynx.9058

I really like this thematic idea of a Norn berserker with a hammer, especially with the axe skin for hammer they've got up on the black lion store.  Just wanting to know if it's a viable/worthwhile build, I have little experience with warrior or its elite specs (it's the one class I haven't played much of at all) before I invest too much into this kind of character.

What side of the game are you asking for? 

From a PvE standpoint, hammer unfortunately has tended to be pretty lackluster.  However, some recent buffs have allowed it to perform pretty well with a Spellbreaker build since the weapon now does decent damage and the CC allows for heavy stacking of the Attacker's Insight buff/trait on Spellbreaker.  Link to build here and a link to a video showing the DPS here.

Currently in PvE, Berserker mainly uses condi weapons (sword/torch and longbow) since power Berserker was hit hard after the June patch that affected a lot of power builds and changed banners, so a Berserker with a hammer would be rather weak. 

If you're asking for a WvW/PvP standpoint...then stay tuned.  The October 4th patch is bringing some really interesting changes to both Berserker and warrior hammer.  No one really knows how well they will ultimately stack up until the patch comes out, but there is definitely some potential there. 

Early notes on the expected changes are found here.

• Thanks 2

Right now, no. It's not viable in zergs. It's slow, low cleave and needs a lot of setup. After the patch it will be twice as good if not thrice, given the fact that the primal is not clunky anymore and buffed, you can use core bursts without Zerk mode ensuring better uptime on mobility and damage and you might be able to drop Signet of Fury for other Rage skills for the adrenaine, giving you even more DPS (Wild Blow, Sundering Leap, Outrage for example).

• Like 1