New player looking for some help

The gear you get from boosting will take you through all the personal story, world exploration, dungeons ( if u find a party), every expansion and tier 1 fractals.

Fractals is also were you start to get ascended more reliably, rings to start with then accessories and in higher ones armor/weapons from the reward boxes.

Edited by Linken.6345
  • Like 2

58 minutes ago, Ashantara.8731 said:

If you are looking for new gear on the Trading Post, make sure to use the Search Filter for the stats are you looking for. You will find much cheaper exotic gear this way with the stats you want than using the stat prefix (e.g., "Berserker") for the search.

Thanks for that info will definitely remember that 

12 hours ago, Wereviper.4376 said:

I'm new to this game and made the mistake of using my 80 boost right away and was wondering what r some good ways to get some decent gear. Because most of the stuff that drops from killing adds in the open world is either unusable or worse then what I have.

To expand on what Linken.6345 said, GW2 is what is known as a "horizontal" progression game.  The gear you received with the boost (known as "exotic" gear) is only 5% lower stats than the best gear you can get (ascended/legendary) and that gear is only very rarely acquired as drops (never, in the case of legendary gear).

In GW2, instead of improving your item level you can use different stat combinations to support your build.  There are also skills known as "masteries".  Most of these do not increase your combat ability directly, although a few of them do.  An example of this would be mounts, which provide various engage skills such as the raptor's tail swipe which can be used when entering combat to damage and pull a group of nearby enemies together.