Here is why Holosmith is good design in my opinion (pve dps)

Jopettaja.7451

Holosmith is a good spec for both complete beginners and experienced players, you can chose if you want to go simple build and do decent damage or go all in with the most complicated version and top the dps charts. It is very good spec to progress with, you will feel powerful right from the start and you can increase the difficulty slowly, for example,

1. Doing only sword and Photon forge auto attacks gives you around 20k dps

2. Adding your most important weapon skills like Photon forge 3,4 and sword 2 gives you already around 25k dps (this is already strong base for the damage)

3. Going simple kitless Holo, adding your utilities and toolbelt, even with some mistakes in the rotation you can do 30k dps

4. Adding harder to use utilities like grenade kit and better rotation you can do 35k dps

5. After that you can still keep min maxing your dps, like going back and fort with grenade kit, doing the rotation faster and smoother, just all around refine it going already closer to 40k

These numbers are not exact real numbers, I tried to keep them simple and they are there more to make the point. The point being, you can start from very simple and keep going more and more complicated and harder rotation and it will reward you every time, but also very importantly and this is very important part: the damage on the most important holosmith base skills are so strong it is easy to start with and even if you make mistakes in your rotation your dps wont go down into oblivion. But at the same time for the max dps the difficulty increases significally, you can still see the difference between the new and the more experienced Holosmith, it is good for both new and expericend players, both can get a lot out of it