What Classes/Specializations are Ping friendly?

Kuchai.2561

I'm new to the game and wanted to know what class would you consider able to be played well on high ping (200+) as I live in SEA.

I originally rolled a Thief but was told I'd be in for a bad time as it and it's Elite Specializations were very Ping reliant. However I have no idea what my options are or what I should avoid. I was thinking of making an Engineer as Holosmith cool but again I can't find any discussion how well that would work for me.

Guardian/Firebrand e-spec or Necromancer/Reaper e-spec.

Firebrand can be run with celestial stats and actually use them all. It's a forgiving generalist that, depending on trait choices, can heal, buff (and give quickness doing so), tank, and/or deal damage. It can do more than one of these at a time, and has great solo potential as well as group utility.

Here's an example generalist build: http://gw2skills.net/editor/?PW0Ac6ZlRw2YPsO2JW2XbPTA-zxIY1o7/MSQVluU1jPEh4hPpOoZC7WgKA-e

As you can see, Firebrand (and Guardian in general) gets a lot of free sustain and has a lot of tools. This may or may not be what you're looking for, so it's one of two recommendations.

Reaper, opposite to Firebrand does only one thing. It deals damage. It gets utility like quickness, but only for itself. But, unlike Firebrand, it doesn't get a whole lot of active defenses. In fact, it gets none. Just the base 2 dodges. It's just ungodly tanky on its own. Most of the time, you'll just be running a mix of marauders and dragon's gear if you're min/maxing damage, but if you're not min/maxing damage, it's entirely possible to build around crusader gear because you can get 75% crit for free, leaving you to figure out 25% to reach cap. This isn't optimal since you sacrifice some damage for it, but you can easily become nigh-impossible to kill due to toughness and sustain.