Getting back into WvWvW (I'm totally lost BTW)

So I'm looking to get back into WvWvW and my old guild is dead, all the guilds I used to chill with are dead and the restructuring confuses me.

So I'm going to go solo and start from scratch again, I'd like to solo roam and make some friends in map chat like i did when i first started, maybe find a few familiar faces. 

I'd like some advice on what are good/strong solo classes that can do map objective stuff, solo roam and small group roam. I'd prefer classes/specializations that are more simplistic than say an Mes or Ele. Treat me like a total newbro as I've forgotten most of what I knew and it's all changed anyway.

Thanks for the help and advice in advance.

• Like 1

2 hours ago, GROMIT.7829 said:

I'd like some advice on what are good/strong solo classes that can do map objective stuff, solo roam and small group roam.

overall with the balance patches over the years and us having warclaw for ooc mobility any class can work for that, so i would prioritize what you have fun playing.

that being said specially for solo doing map objectives IMO nothing comes close to thief for 2 reasons:

• you can avoid pointless encounters better/faster than most any other classes. for example groups that are too large and not noob enough for you to get something out of fighting.
  • shadow portal. it does help with the first point, but it saves a ton of time on running supply for the siege that you might need to build if you cannot straight hide inside an object or maintain a shadow portal inside of it. (given that if you open it in the last ~5s you can basically put down the next one right away and jump out again. while maintaining stealth for that short trip ofc)

for group roaming i am not too much of a fan of using thief unless everyone is using some elusive builds, but even then i guess a comped group with supports and builds that can utilize the support is better.