Good tanky class to actually fight with, in 1vX skirmishes?

VaeVictus.4950

Hello guys,I'm new to GW2. I did play GW1, and some other action-ish MMORPGs, and the part I like the most so far about the game is WvW.I'm looking for a tanky/self-sustain class than can brawl with the best of them in small skirmishes. I don't expect to win single-handed against more than 1 opponents, but still I'd like to feel like I have a chance in a prolonged fight. One thing I don't want is a squishy assassin-type character that could do 1 big burst, maybe finish off a 50% HP enemy and then has to run away. I realize roaming often comes down to bursting, disengaging, and then going in again, so mobility is a must but still I'd enjoy a class that is a little more "head on" that Thief. A class that will allow me to gradually come up ahead in an actual fight.

From what I've seen, although it could be outdated, I might be looking for something like Warrior (love the Spellbreaker aesthetically, dunno how good it is for roaming), Guardian (DH looks awesome), maybe Ranger? Mesmer (I've heard many times that the class, is strong in general for roaming, but I guess the playstyle relies more on mobility and stealth, than actual fighting, and is very squishy itself, much like Thief. Could be wrong though.)
Thanks for all your input ;) Cheers!

You're probably looking at warrior. It is pretty strong in small scale and 1v1, a lot of self sustain and passives, good damage, mobility and escapes.

Mesmer is outright broken, and like thief you will rely on stealth and mobility along with out of stealth burst. Both are cheap garbage classes in my opinion.

Ranger can be very strong, especially some soulbeast builds. Druid can also be used for sustain. Your biggest challenge will be when enemies can close the gap to you, and your longbow is not as useful.