Scourge - The Fundamental Problem and Why Numbers Changes Won't Fix It (sPvP)

Vagrant.7206

Hi everyone!

I'm not here to intentionally rag on necro. I think overall, necro could be in a better place than it is now, and I would definitely like to see core necro buffed, and a slight damage buff on reaper. This thread is focused purely on scourge, and why, despite all the nerfs, it continues to be severely overpowered in sPvP due to its fundamental design.

I'll also admit my natural bias -- I main engineer, and necro has always been a big pain in engineer's side, due to the way the classes interact with each other. I don't want scourge nerfed because of this natural imbalance, as there is a rock-paper-scissors triangle going on between thief, necro, and engineer. Rather, I want scourge problems to be addressed because even in the hands of a complete newbie to GW2 PvP, a scourge can be incredibly effective.

I don't want scourge nerfed in the ground. I want its fundamental mechanics to be examined so that somebody who is braindead cannot play the spec as effectively as a skilled scourge.

TL ; DR

The problem stems from the way the shade skills themselves are designed to function. The shade skills are offense, defense, healing, and utility all crammed into one, and cannot be countered in any way, shape, or form. There is no counterplay to them, and there is very little strategy in using them.

Let's look at the fundamental design behind Scourge.

(The PoF class introduction trailer.)

Based on that video alone, scourges are supposed to:

• Protect allies and hurt enemies with shades
  • Deal torment/burning
  • Corrupt boons on enemies, grant boons to allies

Right away there's nothing intrinsically wrong with this design. It makes scourge a jack-of-all trades, at least in theory. It serves as support, offense, and defense, with its main mechanic being boon corruption. So why is it so dang strong then?

The answer is several-fold: