How do the zergs work?

Sephollos.4829

I'm new to WvW, and I'm trying to figure out what the heck is going on and how to contribute! I don't mean as much with respect to the mechanics, but moreso how the zergs and battles work.

I've been seeing a lot of zerg-on-zerg fights, and they make no sense to me. The enemy zerg runs around with a bunch of pulsing red circles under their feet, and they basically walk ontop of you until you die. The friendly zergs seem to do the same. I can't even tell if anyone is using a skill or what, because it looks like people are just running around with red circles under their feet and not actually casting anything. It also doesn't even look like anyone's fighting...it just seems to be who can put their red circles on the enemy before the enemy puts red circles on you.

I play a spellbreaker, but I can't figure out how to do anything productive. If I get within melee range of anything in these fights, I die instantly (even while blocking apparently). If I stay back, I can't attack or do anything useful other than watch.

If you're watching organized groups they have condition cleanses and healing firing off so that can run around those circles, and probably also on teamspeak so all the communication is happening there. Generally you don't want to be in circle for long, bad commanders will do so and get their zergs wiped, players also need to pay attention and know when they can go into red circles or not. Positioning is very important in wvw. You will have to keep an eye out for skill animations, on players not really possible with a zerg, so you'll have to see what type of aoes are dropping from their animation like meteor wells or shades etc.

As a spellbreaker your job for a zerg is basically get your bubble on the enemy group, warriors have traits and skills to help survive damage periods to do this. Other than that warriors are basically better off in roaming and small group situations.

a vs b

phase 1 buffs