How to make core engineer viable in PvP

Josif.2015

This list is outdated. An updated version of this list can be found here.

Hello GW2 community. Let me introduce myself. My name is Karras and welcome to my first forum post. I've been playing GW2 since 2013 (I know, 5 years and only now I make my first forum post), starting with my first character being a warrior, then made an engineer a few months later and I fell in love with the profession. I love how diverse and unique the profession is and the amount of things you can do with the engineer makes it one of the professions with the highest skill ceiling.

As much as I love core engineer, I'm also kind of saddened to see the profession being neglected, especially in PvP. While I think Scrapper is a good sidegrade to core engineer with a different way to play the profession (despite a few bugs with the gyros), my biggest issue comes with the Holosmith. Ever since the release of Path of Fire, the Holosmith has basically replaced core engineer, in the sense of doing what core engineer does, but does it better. The skill ceiling for the Holosmith is lower compared to core engineer, but what infuriates me the most is that it's able to achieve more by doing less.

So, why am I talking about core engineer? For starters, it's the profession that I love the most and seeing it as this high risk, low reward type of profession in PvP just saddens me. And with the (in my opinion) unnecessary nerfs core engineer received over the past few years just makes it worse. Chaith, a well known engineer player is also trying to keep core engineer viable (thank you Chaith) and while he did make a list of how to improve core engineer, I believe I've made the perfect list of changes that will make core engineer viable in PvP once and for all. Any criticism is welcomed and I would love to see what you think of the things I'm about to say. It's a long list of proposed changes, so just bare with me. Here we go.

Weapons