GDPR agreement invalid?

When starting the game, I was prompted to agree to the new privacy policy today, since the GDPR is now in effect. Now I am not a lawyer or anything, but it seems to me, that the GDPR agreement in this case is invalid.

According to Art. 4 GDPR, 11

‘consent’ of the data subject means any freely given, specific, informed and unambiguous indication of the data subject’s wishes by which he or she, by a statement or by a clear affirmative action, signifies agreement to the processing of personal data relating to him or her;

And Art. 7 GDPR , (4)

When assessing whether consent is freely given, utmost account shall be taken of whether, inter alia, the performance of a contract, including the provision of a service, is conditional on consent to the processing of personal data that is not necessary for the performance of that contract.

expanded on in Recital 43, 2

Consent is presumed not to be freely given if it does not allow separate consent to be given to different personal data processing operations despite it being appropriate in the individual case, or if the performance of a contract, including the provision of a service, is dependent on the consent despite such consent not being necessary for such performance.

consent is not freely given, since

create a profile for marketing campaigns
Cookies and Tracking Pixels

are in no way necessary for playing the game.

In general, you can not have a catch all agreement under the GDPR, if those things are not necessary for that service.See also

@"Alzager.7265" said:Now I am not a lawyer or anything, but it seems to me, that the GDPR agreement in this case is invalid.

You know that ANet had actual, real lawyers look at this, and help them understand how to conform to the regulations, right? As "not a lawyer", that means that "seems to [you]" is kinda meaningless.