Is there a profession you love mechanically but can't get into thematically or vice versa

Akrib.4297

Saw this thread on reddit and found it pretty interesting on how people look at different classes. Thought I would post it here and start a discussion to see what classes others would like to play but just couldn't get into them either it being how it looks or how it plays?

Here's the link https://www.reddit.com/r/Guildwars2/comments/8mm3b9/is_there_a_profession_you_love_mechanically_but/

Like I said on the post, which btw ty for showing since I miss it on reddit :DIs guardian and Warrior ( with a bit of necro ) I just love their skills and how they feel and play but I just dont see myself as one.I started playing this game because of Mesmers ( look at my name and u will know y ) and no matter how much I play other characters I come bck to mesmers :/TO REVERSE it tho, ele was super appealing to me and fun to lvl untill I hit endgame with all the hard rotations and stuff and also air not being valiable :/ ( the lighting powers was y I started playing ele in the 1st place )

I feel like this post screams Revenants...

Personally, I love the mechanics, and the theme is fine... But HOLY CRAP do you see a ton of Rev's get very, very sad cuz they want to live their GW1 nostalgia dream, or be an edge-lord-dark-knight in a blindfold with a demon talking inside their head to them, but then just get destroyed by the energy system. Anet did a hilarious thing by packaging such an obviously popular theme in a tough to master package (although in their defense, it was an expansion class, so they assumed everyone would have a handle on the game by then.)

For me it was guardian. I really like the "paladin, big, tanky, slow, defensive" thing, and in almost every other MMO that is what I enjoyed a great deal -- second only to things like the "death knight" in WoW, or the necro in GW2.