Leaders of Guilds, lend me your EXP!

(I went to post this in the guilds sub-forum, but I guess that's not a thing outside of the LFGuild section so uh- here I am!)

Introductions, I'm Lavren ingame and I've been co-running a medium sized guild in this game for about 3 & 1/2 years now (the guild itself has been around since 2011).Over the last two years or so we've transitioned from a Guild Wars only guild, to more of a multi-game community with the aid of a Discord server replacing our traditional forum and skype group chat gone are the days of waking up to 500+ skype messages, 50% of which are just keysmashes.

It's come to that time of the start of the year "state of the guild" review when I and the other 5 leaders get together and brainstorm what we can do to keep things interesting for members, and reliably active as we continue to change. I wanted to make this thread because after reading up some rather outdated threads and blogs on guild leadership/managing communities, finding useful Guild Leader resources or relevant experiences is like drawing blood from a stone.I'm not making this thread to judge , or to dredge up past drama- I understand every guild has different standards and expectations of their members so there's not going to be a one-fix-all solution, but perhaps by talking about this stuff it can be helpful to others in similar situations!

I'd be very interested to hear from other guilds and clans, what you do, and have done, that has worked (and what didn't work) in keeping members interested and active, how you tackle burnout amongst leaders/officers, periods of stagnation when there are several months between content releases, and different opinions and stances on recruitment- whether actively spamming map-chat or sending "cold call" PM's to tagless people, or passively putting an advertisement up here in the forums/reddit/guildex etc and waiting it out.