[WvW] "New" Thief, some builds I've been using

Shroud.2307

Before I begin, I put "new" in quotations because it isn't my first time playing Thief and I've been playing GW2 for many years. This is just the first time I've decided to really put effort in to improving with Thief where as all the other times I've tried, which has been many, I've deleted it out of frustration with myself.

I'm not necessarily looking for combat tips as I understand mechanics quite well, but I'm curious what others think about the following builds and my experiences with them.

Build #1

Build #2

Build #1 was the one I began with. I think the stats are a lot more practical but some how I felt like I was taking too much damage and not dealing enough. I tried a variety of trait and weapon combinations looking for something that I could learn with. Staff, S/P, S/D were all too unforgiving and/or didn't deal enough damage. I really enjoy P/P with Bound but it isn't very good for obvious reasons.

After I got sick of dying all the time I started to experiment with stats again hoping to find something that might work better. When I thought about how little damage Dagger auto attacks did post-February nerfs and how there's a trait, "Hidden Killer", that grants 100% Critical Chance when attacking from Stealth I thought, hm... Maybe I go for 0% crit chance but lots of Power and Ferocity?

I'm finding Build #2 works quite well. Although I rarely crit when not Stealth attacking my auto attacks aren't doing a whole lot less damage than they would if I was critting ( 700 - 900 non-crit's versus 1k - 1.1k crits on previous build ). Not only that but my Backstabs are doing more damage with this build because I have higher Ferocity. I'm regularly seeing 7 - 10k followed by a few 4 - 6k follow up attacks depending on what I use next.