Jump to content
  • Sign Up

Lunar New Year email links to NCSoft website with bad cert

Recommended Posts

On Feb 2 I received an email from guildwars2@ncsoft.com that announced the new Lunar New Year content. Most of the many links in the email direct to guildwars2.ncsoft.com. But all of the web-browsers I've tried prevent me from loading those pages, claiming the connection is not secure. Apparently the problem is that the https cert for ncsoft.com is linked to bluehornet.com, and not ncsoft.com. I'm guessing that ncsoft hired bluehornet to do marketing for them, but messed up the cert.

I'm suspect this is all a legit error, and not phishing, but end users aren't supposed to have to guess about this stuff. (I personally haven't overriden the security warnings to plow through to the website myself) If there's somone from the companies reading this (arenanet, ncsoft, bluehornet, etc) please forward the info to the proper team for investigation/correction.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@"Inculpatus cedo.9234" said:Must be already taken care of, because the links work fine for me. (Firefox)

It is not it still has a bat certificate cause if you type guildwars2.ncsoft.com it directs you to http://guildwars2.ncsoft.com now try with https://guildwars.ncsoft.com (which the clickable link in the mail probably redirects to) and you get a certificate error.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Create New...