The Drawbacks Of Having a Main In GW2

Iskander.6309

Lets me start off with: I main Engineer. I love its playstyle. I love the utility. But I say this because I will compare the patchnotes to this. And hope to explain some feelings people with main classes have when reading the patch notes.

On this forum, and on Reddit, with high frequency there are posts of someone starting GW2 and asking a question along the lines of: 
"Hello, I'm new, I like this playstyle, what class would fit this?"

And in line with that thought, you will get some decent answers of people explaining playstyles and what kind of endgame the class has (love you guys, keep it up). But also, and these people are not wrong, there are quite some people who answer: Guardian. And rightfully so.

With the upcoming patch as an Engineer, I am of course overjoyed. It looks like we get a chance at the HFB spot. Quickness has been granted to the Scrapper.

What ANet write is: 

While the Scrapper can be played as an effective healer, it hasn’t had access to the offensive boons it needs to be truly valuable as a support role in group PvE content

I find this hilarious for this reason: If you look up synonyms for Scrapper in general, nothing will be portrayed as a healer, or defensive idea behind it.

Anyways, on to the actual annoyance I had for the Balance patch.

Guardian has always been a very flexible and powerful profession. While we are happy with the current build diversity available to guardians—and we are working to extend that same diversity to other professions—we’ve observed that all guardian damage builds, both condition and power, utilize the same combination of the Zeal and Radiance specializations, as they have optimal trait choices for each.

This is by far the most appaling thing I can read when you main Engineer.
Engineers have condi and power options, both in Holosmith (and yes I checked other classes, Engineer might be lucky there). But both these builds use the same traitlines.