New to GW2, playing DD and get blamed for losing all the time. Am I missing something?

ACGOG.9572

Howdy,

So I'm relatively new to GW2. I rolled a Revenant because they looked fun but they're not quite the class I thought they were, which is fine. I then decided to roll a Thief and boy-oh-boy are the mechanics fun, challenging, and over time seem to be very rewarding - when played right. I want to get better at it as it's listed as a meta-spec due to the fact that it can help swing games.

I went with the DD D/P spec because of the mobility and have been practicing in order to get better for when I can do ranked. I've watched a bunch of streamers (I've been trying to play like a gentleman by the name of Sindrener), how-to guides, etc., and in Conquest Practice focus on ninjaing points and killing stragglers in between. I also jump into team fights where I can, but if it's 1v3 or 2v4, while I do my best to help out, if it looks like it's a losing battle I'll skip out and head to the objective instead of dying.

However, I get blamed for the team losing - a lot. Like, a lot a lot. That I'm not doing my job right, or I have a PvE spec (I don't), or I'm bad at what I'm doing, that I should be helping more somehow. This never happens on my Rev, or my Ranger, or my Necro - only on my DD.

Am I doing something wrong? Is there something that I missed? Should I be team fighting more? I thought I was doing a good job as I almost always get the Offense icon (for whatever it's worth) but if I need to change something up I'm glad to.

Appreciate it, and any advice would be great.

• Like 1

Blame the thief is an accurate meme, but it is still just a meme. It sounds like you are working hard at improving and taking many good steps, keep doing that. Reflect on your decisions and see if there isn't something you can learn, but many of these comments aren't likely worth a grain of salt. Keep doing you.

• Like 4