Questions About Gear Ratings

Spoodles.9518

Hello I am pretty new to this game and everywhere I look just tells me what TYPE of stats to go for like power etc or what weapon types like berserker. What I want to know about is the actual numbers. The numbers man. I can’t find what a good overall rating is for weapons armor trinkets etc. My armors ratings average around 150 and my weapons attack rating average at 900. 

I’m currently trying to build a berserker reaper and I have berserker armor, no trinkets yet, and I’m also not sure what to put for my unused upgrade slots. 

If anyone has an idea of what good items to go for or what item level gear I need I would appreciate it. 

• Confused 1

Ok, to really understand this part of the culture, you have to become familiar with a couple things about the overall design of the game.

The game caps your level at 80, and that all Gear (regardless of rarity) are scaled based on level.  There is NO random element to gear stat numbers.  The Devs also balance the majority of content around Exotic stat magnitudes.  Ascended and Legendary gear are only +10% total over Exotics.  All of this was done with the intent to flatten the gear system, and prevent a BIS gear treadmill...... which was one of several reasons the Anet devs originally left WoW's development to start their own Company. (Yes, Most of Anet's founders are ex-blizzard employees) (also, ironically, the Raid team for Fosaken Thicket were also from WoW)

So with that in mind, this the table of stat distributions for gear at level 80

https://wiki.guildwars2.com/wiki/Attribute_combinations#Attribute_bonuses_at_level_80

They're divided into 3 categories;

3-stat, (1 major 2 minor) which offers highest peak value for the major, but the lowest total bonus across all stats

4-stat, (2 major 2 minor) which offers moderate peak value (15% lower), but a 15% higher stat total, and more easily enables an off stat without significant loss to your primary ones.