What are these crazy auto attack Staff damage numbers?

Sifu.9745

I am new to Ranger and i have just tried out Druid in PvP training grounds where i was testing how good Staff is as a healing weapon. But when i auto attacked a Target Golem with Solar Beam i noticed that the dmg rises up as long as i stay in the combat and don't get interrupted/blocked/dodge or using any other non AA skill. The first Solar Beam hit is around 150 dmg and then the dmg increases with every hit/pulse to 300 dmg, 500 dmg, 1200 dmg, 5000 dmg, up to 30 000 per hit/pulse etc. I guess the numbers can rise up endlessly? Are these numbers real or this is just a bug? Why doesn't the tooltip says anything about the dmg increase and are these numbers only shown in PvP or i can expect them in pve as well?

Sorry for English ...

Edited by Sifu.9745
  • Haha 2

• Sifu.9745 changed the title to What are these crazy auto attack Staff damage numbers?
4 hours ago, Sifu.9745 said:

Thx UmbraNoctis, that makes a lot more sense. It's still weird though, that the total dmg dealt is shown in combat for the Staff auto attack ...

Its an old quirk of the UI design, as a way to make damage floaters less messy.    One problem I have with pretty much every game other GW2 where damage floaters are present, is that as combat ramps up in late game, the number of damage sources is borderline spastic.....   Even looking at WoW, its dozens of damage ticks on the screen going off between the various individual skills ticking away.  

What GW2 does is consolidate whats normally combo or multi-hit attacks from a single source add up to give you the total.  This runs alongside how the tool tips have condensed damage totals for multi hit skills, expressed as "(4x): 1,000", and means 1,000 damage across 4 strikes.