What do I do with all this junk I'm looting?

Valatar.7590

I'm returning after a long hiatus for PoF, and it's been dropping a bunch of stuff into my bags that I don't have a very clear idea what to do with: salvage items and unidentified gear. Specifically, this boils down into two questions:

1. What tier salvage kit should be used on salvage items, is it worth burning higher level kit uses on them or do they pop out the same stuff with a cheap salvage kit? Or is it better to just sell them outright?

2. Is it more optimal to sell, salvage, identify then sell, or identify then salvage the unidentified gear? And as above, does the level of salvage kit change the outcome of salvaging the unidentified stuff?

I'm not an expert, but I can give you some insight.

1. I would recommend the cheaper salvage kits on salvage items. I'm not aware of any rare/high-level materials that come from most of them. Most salvage items are basic and will yield some simple materials that you can use/stash/sell. If you're hard up for gold, you could sell them, but you're likely better off salvaging and selling mats (recent price drops may have changed this)
  2. There are a few possibilities here, and it depends on what you're trying to do. Let me make some bullet sub-points below:
  • Masterwork and below Unidentified Items (UI) - if you want PoF specific materials, you need to salvage directly, and I'd recommend using a basic or lower-end kit (or copper-fed salvage-o-matic)
  • Alternatively, you can identify your Masterwork and below UI and salvage all of the masterwork and below items with the basic kit. You'll get regular mats for the items when you salvage them. You might also get some rare or exotic items when you ID; you can sell these on TP or salvage with a higher end kit (I like Mystic kits for rare and Black Lion for exotic to maximize use and hopefully get some Ectos and Dark Matter)