Beginner guardian advice

Crocelle.8962

hey there im new to GW2 and need some help with my guardian. im lvl 16 and very confused as to what i should be putting my hero points in. i spent all my hero points on signets and i am unsure if that was a mistake or not. either way what should i be putting my hero points into? and if it matters im mainly doing PvE, might check out PvP soon.

For your core specializations and skills, you don't actually need to put too much though into where you put your hero points. Even if you never complete a single HP challenge in the open world, purely by leveling to 80 will give you enough HPs to fully complete your core specs.

While you're leveling, it will be helpful for your understanding of the game to look at the unlocks yourself and try out what looks useful. Whether you make the right choice of not, the core Tyria open world is forgiving enough that it won't restrict you seriously.

Thanks Purgatori! I main Guard and found that this combo works best for me and what I accomplish in game (I'm strictly PvE with some very occasional WvW). But I agree--when you get to 80 is when you should really worry about a specific build and like onevstheworld said - you'll get enough Hero Points from leveling rewards to fully max your core utilities and trait lines.

Only other suggestion I can make is to make sure you play around with all of the weapons Guard can use and see which combination/switch you like best (that goes for any class, really).

You don't have to worry too much about it yet, the game is pretty forgiving early on, and you can get through the first couple of maps with just your weapon skills mostly. Spend this time to rather experiment and try things out, find things you like.

General