New to Mesmer - Looking for resources PvP/WvW

DrArmature.4619

Hey guys, I started playing as a necromancer/ele back at launch, and left when HoT launched. My best friend talked me into coming back for POF, so back on August I started playing again. while I enjoyed my necromancer, I started playing chrono in pve and absolutely loved it. The power of alacrity and quickness really sold me on the class. Since then, I've pretty much only played the mesmer. 100% of the time I'm logged in. I've really gotten a feel for the class in pve, and a little in WvW (but not much).

Over the last few days, I've been trying to get my beak wet with roaming in WvW and PvP. My experience so far has been one of absolute domination by any class I go up against. I'm failing, super hard. I try to just run from any spellbreaker I see, thieves eat my lunch without losing any health, dragon hunters seem to be able to block and survive the opening burst, and I avoid scourges like the plague (tell me I'm punny).

In trying to learn mesmer, I looked at qtfy and metabattle to see what people were running. While I found the written guides for PVE, I never found any videos explaining how the chronomancer spec meshes and skills go together. I've found the same is true for pvp builds. I'm trying to find videos of what works, and how to play it, but I'm coming up empty.

A few days ago, I ran across this for wvw,

and I've been trying shatter builds (mirage and chono). While the damage burst does 100-0 some opponents (when I can get the combo right), I have no idea how I should be playing around other classes. In terms of a learning experience, I'll walk away from most engagements thinking "that went horrifically wrong, but I don't know what I should have done better". I've tried shatter, condi chrono, PU, and recently condi mirage builds, and I'm getting that feeling with all of them.