A returning player's questions

Rend.5794

Hello all, I'm a returning player (last played a year ago)

I used to main a power GS reaper, and had great fun with it. Also had fun with playing a power herald back then but it seems there has been some changes.I want to start playing a rev as my main, but I did a bit of research and I'm still very confused, so I'd like to ask the community to help me understand a few things! (The questions may be silly, but please try understand I'm still fairly new to the game!)

My interest is heavily focused on playing a sword/sword power rev. And my ultimate goal is 'having fun' in WvW while also being able to output decent damage. (Also for Fractals & OpenWorld)People have told me that power revs recently are really dependent on using staffs over S/S.. and honestly, im not really a fan of using a staff.

• Would it be possible to still do decent damage using swords most of the time (if not always) ? I really love playing melee with sword/sword!

Also, being a power rev,

• Is there ONE build which I can use to play for Wvw, Fractals, Openworld? Or would I be expected to change my build around appropriately for each situation?(Doesn't have to be a meta build, as long as it provides decent sustain and damage)

I've also read that there's been a nerf with the energy cost and so it's become harder to maintain buffs and harder to play in general.

• Would playing a power Rev (herald or Renegade) be harder to play now than it used to be?

• If it's not really recommended to play power revs for inexperience players, are there any other possible professions I can play as a power sword/sword user?

Thanks all for taking the time to read!

@"Rend.5794" said:Also, being a power rev,

• Is there ONE build which I can use to play for Wvw, Fractals, Openworld? Or would I be expected to change my build around appropriately for each situation?(Doesn't have to be a meta build, as long as it provides decent sustain and damage)