Locked Out of Guild Bank from Steam Accounts

So I just started a Steam account (even though I've been playing since 2012). Through a character on my original account, I invited my new account to my guild. When I tried to access the Guild Bank with my new Steam character, I find that I cannot, and it gives me the option to view this page:

https://help.guildwars2.com/hc/en-us/articles/230165307-Guild-Wars-2-Account-Types-Free-Core-HoT-PoF

Ok, fine. Authenticators are such a hassle, but I'll set it up. I log in to Arena.Net to do account management and look for the security option to add the authenticator, but can't find it anywhere. I do a Google search for using an authenticator with a Steam account and come across the GW2 FAQ:

https://help.guildwars2.com/hc/en-us/articles/360053416353-Steam-FAQ

which includes this lovely little gem:

Can I add Authentication to my Guild Wars 2 Steam account?

No, the option to add account authentication within the Account Management page of your ArenaNet account is not available for Guild Wars 2 Steam accounts. Please visit Steam to review any options they offer concerning authentication for your Steam account.

So, what you're saying is that Steam users can't make use of the Guild Bank or send money or items via email because they are Steam users? Users who aren't allowed to add the authenticator? My Steam account is already authenticated via the Steam app, yet I still can't access the Guild Bank or email items.. All this just because I'm a veteran player taking advantage of the Steam release of the game to create a new accoiunt?

Oh, joy.

Will this ever be fixed, or are Steam users permanently locked out of the Guild Bank and restricted from sending certain emails?

• Thanks 2
  • Confused 1

Not sure about the mail, but there are restrictions on new accounts:

Three day

There is a 72-hour restriction on:

• Currency Exchange in the Gem store after account creation to combat botting and scams.