Recommended melee classes

Arbiter.1529

Hi!I'm fairly new to GW2. I raised my 1st ranger and 2nd ele from 1 to 80. I feel both professions are very squishy.(at least ranger is tougher than ele thanks to its pets) Also they both are range jobs. I often die using ele so I got very annoyed.I want to try any other melee classes. Do you have any recommendation?I heard that dragonhunter uses a longbow. So is it a purely range job?

Hi and first and foremost welcome! :)One thing to point out is that the way GW2 works is that any class can melee or range (to different levels of success). It's primarily more about the flavour and style that you prefer. At high levels some professions are more desired for certain roles though these often change with each patch so focus firstly on what you enjoy and worry about raid/high level content later :)

I'm assuming (possibly incorrectly) that when you say 'raised' you meant that you boosted them straight from level 1-80. If I'm wrong, ignore this, but otherwise I would suggest learning the profession by leveling it up rather than using the shortcut.

Do you have the expansions or are you playing solely core professions (such as ranger as opposed to druid or soulbeast)?

Melee is more dynamic in this game than other MMOs I've played and even at melee range the most important thing to learn is to dodge rather than soak up the damage. Rangers can be good in melee with greatsword or sword, whilst elementalists (harder to learn) have melee capacity through daggers. I'm guessing (but correct me if otherwise) that from the sound of things you prefer straight up direct damage rather than condition (DoT). Again all professions have some capacity for either type of damage at melee range, it really depends on style.

Here's a rough sort of breakdown that might help for melee gameplay (expansion elite specs or DoT in brackets):