Conquest roaming class

Ste.9741

I'm new to gw2 (I did play in 2012 for a little bit) and have been playing a little over a week now but I need help deciding a class which is effective as a capper (I don't know if this is the term)I enjoy roaming and getting objectives, I've been having fun on my ranger so far with longbow/greatsword but wondering if there's any other professions which are range that are good at this? I'd like to try out a few of them before I dedicate to Ranger, since I keep seeing that it's beneficial to go sword/warhorn instead of GS and I hate it tbh.I kinda like the look of dragonhunter guardian or deadeye thief with a rifle but everything I've read indicates it's kind of a meme, is this true?

Thanks!

i think the core thief build on metabattle is a good thing to give a try for what you want to accomplish.you got good damage, the best mobility second to daredevil.and you remove alot of boons, so classes that rely on aegis, stabiliy, and protection will be worried when you splash in to plus one.

+1 for Thief. Pick your flavor by building for either intercepting squishies or busting boontanks. But, a bit of warning:

If you want to cap, you will need to be able to deal with people that are in your face, so I'd just like to point out not to get too dead set on only playing from range if point capture is your focus.There are several other thief builds out there that have use as well. As far as a cap-dedicated class, you can't really do better than thief.

If that doesn't work out, try Mirage, a flavor of ele, Spellbreaker, a flavor of engie, or a flavor of ranger. You'll be slower, but those classes make up for it in staying power.