Mesmer PvP questions

Animosity.5968

I'm a long time gw2 vet but I have never once stepped into the mists for PvP. Lately I've been big on Mesmer (Mirage atm) and I've got a few questions that hopefully someone more seasoned than I in PvP mechanics/builds could shed some light on for me. Little bit of extra info, I seem to be gravitating towards power Mirage.

1) I don't often see off-hand sword taken, why is this?-It has a block, a daze (stun if traiting into dazes stun) and a phantasm that gives might. Torch is almost always taken but i find its cd's long and the invis gets AoE'ed hard by scourges.

2) Is portal and blink a requirement in PvP?

• I see it in every build and I understand their mobility/escape potential, portals safe stomp mechanic but it limits alot of build theory by taking 2 slots up . Mostly Asking about Portal here i guess because blink saves me so much I think its definitely worth it.

3) How does one successfully use portal?

• Outside of safe stomping I have been capping say "far" point and roaming mid/close to help a fight then when I see far being recapped I portal back for a fight to contest.

4) As a mesmer (mirage) what exactly is my "role"?

• I believe i'm more a duelist that is meant to back cap points and +1 myself into a even fight where possible to secure quick kills/caps

5) How are other mesmer's dealing with Scourge and SB?

• for Scourge i've been kiting their shades and if I have greatsword just poking them until burst is viable but when I don't have greatsword I basically can't beat them. I need to get too close and even in a stun they manage to eat me alive and I have to retreat.

• SB I just annoy and run when I have their attention. I honestly can't beat a good SB. They roll over me.