Is further worldbuilding needed for your characters?

Hi! I'm Mora, I have been roleplaying a few characters for about two years, and playing the Guild Wars franchise for around six years. A very enjoyable but also frustrating part of that experience was worldbuilding in Guild Wars 2, mostly around magic, politics, ancient ruins and delves, etc. I still periodically write an overly long grimoire of elemental spells, that my former guildmates likely remember and dread in equal parts. Which brings me to today's topic.

Is further worldbuilding needed for your characters? 

It's no secret that Guild Wars 2's lore can be extremely vague. We know very little about the practice of magic, for instance. The only human school of magic to be confirmed (via a gemstore product with no lore) is the Queensdale Academy. There doesn't seem to be any data for the language used in incantations, despite repeated mention of incantations in source material from both games. We know quite little about the upper limits of most magical crafts, meaning blood magic could make you into a nigh-immortal vampiric caster and you would find little lore to gainsay you. Not that I've done that... cough. Is it even forbidden to use mind control, or chaos magic, which is notoriously unpredictable? Is it allowed to raise corpses on the battlefield? Or in civilian life? Is there a codex of laws on magic that we don't know about? I could go on, but you get my point: at some point, when exploring a topic in roleplay, you will run into an area that lacks substance, and there are a number of options that you can go for.