Newbie first time into GW2

Yeldo.4576

Hi, it's my first time playing GW2 with some friends, thing is they have played before and they know what they are doing, unlike me.I have got both expansions and I'm torn with all these classes.I'm looking for something that can do some serious damage and is balanced in pve/PvP. I'm not Into the mesmer hype though.I will tell you my experience, I have tried all the classes but haven't actually played the game yet hah.I loved engineer but the turrets seems to be really weak and I also tried the flamethrower kit and it seems okay...but not strong. I know that holosmith is really strong though.I also tried necromancer and it really was fun with all the pets and reaper shroud but I only heard people staying how bad they actually are in pve and PvP and they never were good. And I'm like...ok...Warrior Beserker seems to be really cool and very strong with, alot of burning damage just not sure how strong are they?Thief I was told to stay away from thief and necro as they are the forgotten classes? Abit sad because deadeye seemed to dish out some nice damage in PvP...

I'm torn between these, thief, engi, Beserker, necro...Can you enlighten me and advise what should I go for? I love all of them equally but I don't know how good they fare in PvP and pve.

Thanks

My advice is to have two different characters. For one thing, PvP characters don't have to be geared, at least not SPvP characters. You can start a new character and PvP with them without even leveling them.

Then you can have the best of both worlds.

Beyond that it's hard to recommend a specific profession because everyone you ask will give you a different answer. But you can at least try them all out in the PvP lobby to get a feel for them and the delete the character and try another. It's better to do that and ask my opinion because I guarantee you I'm playing a different game than you are.