Guild Wars 2's Classes and class difficulty

BenaSPACE.6028

Recently I had returned to the game, and I worry that perhaps too much attention is at times payed to making the game easier to play in ways that come at a cost of making class features interesting.

I'll begin with a disclosure: I'm an Engineer main, and I feel like we tend to be the most disgruntled with our class; so when I speak it may be from a place of bias.

When I first began playing Guild Wars 2, it was in its infancy during some of the betas. During these times, classes were a lot wilder, I think, and I feel like the devs were a lot more willing to be a lot more blue-sky (as in, taking even crazy ideas and implementing them) with how abilities worked. Warrior banners were things you could pick up and use as environment weapons, as an example, versus now where interacting with them simply just lowers the cooldown. Both ideas have merit, in my eyes, but I'm sure there's more than a few warriors out there nostalgic for the way banners used to work. I'm not that experienced in all of the classes, of course, but I'm sure there's a few more things like this that each class has.

At the same time, however, an approachable game is just a good idea. Simplifying mechanics is an easy way to make the game new player friendly, and new players is just a fundamental need for any multiplayer game; especially MMOs like GW2. I'm not against the idea of having homogeneous playstyles starting out to get players' feet wet, but after a while, if everything feels the same, it just gets... Well... Dull.