Question/concern/gut wrenching fear about Local.dat

greetings, i am new to gw2, started playing mid december 2023 and i have a question/huge concern regarding the ingame settings and this "Local.dat" file people talk about online

lets start with why i need to know the following questions
in the elder scrolls online, players can alter their settings not only by using the ingame menu but also by using the games "UserSettings.txt" wich opens up a wide viarity of different options one cant change in game because theyre all bundled in 1 slide menu (for example, shadows, by setting shadows to high or ultra, the player automaticaly gets hq shadows alongside long distance shadows, wereas in the txt file you can set the shadow distance to ultra but set 0 instead of 1 under usehighresshadows, the low res shadows look quite alot better too AND cost much less fps)

my question being, is it allowed to alter the local.dat file? ive already found out its under %appdata% but the thought of altering it if possible scares me because i already spendt quite alot of money on the game and would like to avoid getting banned, i know players have their own opinions so if one of you know 100% for sure that its allowed alongside evidence, much apreciated, what would help the most is if a developer confirms wether or not this is allowed

my goal? to disable post processing things individualy, bloom affects my machine horrendously wereas godrays doesnt do anything but make light look more prettier by making it give of rays, i love post processing effects, i also use reshade, but whats keeping me from disabling this option is the godrays and that it automaticaly disables ambient occlusion

i play gw2 mainly for pve content and screenshotting purposes so having as much quality in balance with fps (my goal is 75) is a must, i simply cant cut corners with boxed up settings like post processing

apologies if those questions are stupid
ย 

Edited by Rex The Wolf.2460