WvW solo roaming with staff questions

Joey.3928

Hey all,

90% of the time I play my ranger in WvW. I play pure melee and do very well. I enjoy the difficulty it brings and the acknowledgement from enemy players for doing so well on a non meta build. I want to do the same with ele. I'm really new to the profession. I have always loved staff though. I know staff solo roaming is NOT meta and people say it won't work and there are more viable options, but I don't care about that. I want to get really good with it. I was initially going to stay as core ele and when I got comfortable, move to weaver. But I actually unlocked weaver last night and figured I should just jump right into it.

Does anyone have general staff tips? Trait/gear suggestions? Right now I am trying air/earth/weaver. I might switch to air/water/weaver though for more heals/condi removal on water.

I think for the most part you'd be better off on tempest if you're planning to roam with staff. Outside of oneshot builds at least. Air overload and earth overload complement the staff kit very well, and waiting for overloads isn't as painful as on other weapons, since your animations are longer. Running ether renewal helps a lot for getting to overloads easier as well.

Dont ever play tempest with dps setup in non-pve modes. Overloads do no damage, they are easy to interrupt and easy to avoid. Traits are mostly useless for any dps or reliable defense/sustain compared to other specs. Same goes for earth, it only has niche uses in support builds (especially tempest auramancer), but thats all.