Learning curve of classes

Jebza.5627

Hi all

I'm pretty new to the game and currently at the point where I am looking for one class that can be used in all content (PvP/PvE/WvWvW). Just so I can get used to 1 specific class.Been looking at metabattle/forums and the qtfy site for builds and what is in the current "meta", as I've read that playing one of these classes/specs will just make it alot easier to get into groups / ...

Now what I was wondering was, do you think playing mesmer as a first "Serious" character is a mistake as a friend of mine (Who's been playing this game for a long time already) is always discouraging me of picking f.e. Mesmer or Engi due to their higher skillcap / need of game knowledge.

Atm I'm in a pickle between Mesmer / Rev.

How would you guys advice new friends on the matter of choosing a class in GW2 ?

On a sidenote I think of myself as being quite a good player who loves to read up on his class/ get the most possible out of it (In World of Warcraft).Considering I'm completely new GW2 I still have alot to learn ofc.

Thanks in advance for all the insight.

• In open world PvE any class with almost any build is playable. This means you can pick whatever class and build you actually like to play and do not have to play it because it is currently meta
  • If you start to look at PvE raids only top dps builds/classes or few very specific builds are welcomed
  • I do not know anything about PvP
  • In WvW it depends what you want to do. Solo or small group roamers have completely different classes, builds and playstyles then zergs or guild groups

Meta builds change little with every patch, sometimes, like releasing new expansion, they change a lot. Yet, lots of the meta builds rely on having fully ascended gear with exact stats, exact foods, trinkets etc. Every time something gets patched you could face another upgrade to your gear with cost of hundreds of gold. It is quite boring, and endless cycle.