Newbie here! Can someone answer a few questions pls

Droughboi.2945

Hi everyone! I'm pretty new to most things in GW2, so I was hoping someone could provide some guidance. I made a Firebrand yesterday and I absolutely love it! But I have absolutely no clue wtf I'm doing with builds. I really, really like Greatsword, and Sword/Shield. Are there viable builds that include that weapon set? I kinda want to be a tanky dps. If someone could also kindly explain why certain weapons are.... ineffective that would be great too. I'd even be satisfied with just being directed toward a reputable link or guide that has what im looking for.

Oh and I'm primarily a PvE player for now until I get the hang of things.

Thanks all.

http://metabattle.com/wiki/Guardian

If you ask others they are going to say, in open world you can play anything you like, any stat, any build. In instanced areas of the game youll want to be as high damage as possible, which is where the above link comes in. Now, Firebrand while an interesting spec lends itself more toward condition damage as it has more burning effects, and its signature weapon (optional to use) causes conditions such as bleeding. Greatsword and sword are more power weapons and so lean more towards Dragonhunter and Core Guardian. Obviously if you unlocked the elite spec you arent level 1. I dont have much experience with Firebrand specifically, but you may be able to make sword/shield work with the Radiance line (radiant power,, amplified wrath) and Zeal (symbolic power). GL

If you are looking for effective PvE engame proof builds, I absolutely recommend QT over Metabattle (which tends to be outdated).

For Firebrand: https://qtfy.eu/guildwars/guardian/condi-fb-build-guide/

For builds with Greatsword, as mentioned, DH will be a better choice (https://qtfy.eu/guildwars/guardian/power-dh-quick-guide/).

That said, for open world, you can absolutely run around as a Sword/Shield condi Firebrand!