A Guide to providing infinite content for a whole playerbase with 1 intern - Please Arenanet, pleaaase

Posted (edited)

Hello!

I'd just like to point something out looking at some other online games that are very successful.

Case study 1: League of Legends

How often does League of Legends add new content to the game? Very expensive story instances? New raids, zones, maps with detailed 3D models, audio design, etc, etc? Well, I'm no expert but aside from some for-fun gamemodes they've had 1 map (with lots of small changes and 1 big visual rework) since 2009 (RiP Twisted Treeline, and the other one). So what kind of updates do Riot Games provide their (multiple orders of magnitude) more popular and long-living game? 

Some new champions every now and then but mostly Balance Patches. Just, simple, balance patches, most of which are just tuning numbers. A quick google search gives us this link: https://www.leagueoflegends.com/en-us/news/tags/patch-notes/

Here you can clearly see that they release balance patches every 2 weeks or so. Big patches that keep the game fresh. But Riot Games is a big company, they have a lot of employees and way more resources than Arenanet, probably true, fair enough.

Case study 2: Defense of the Ancients (DotA) 2

How does Valve keep their insanely large playerbase engaged for so long? What do their updates look like? New raid every month? New story every day?

Well actually, they have the same, singular map that they've had since... 2005? Something like that? And actually the updates that they do, along with new heroes every now and then are... BALANCE PATCHES. Crazy right? There has to be something magical about these mysterious "Balance Patches", as a Guild Wars 2 player myself I'm not very familiar with them, I thought they were extremely rare for some reason.