New to Necromancer

Magnedeus.4713

So as the title suggests i am completely new to the necromancer profession and i have a few questions about it and the elite professions:

1..I see that the necromancer heavily focuses on conditions so should i build pure conditions ? I know they also summon minions  to fight, but their damage looks pretty poor. Is there more to them?

2. About the reaper, i read that it's a pure DPS profession and pretty powerful. How does it fair today and compare to other professions?

3. Does the Scourge profession focus more on support or can it do damage as well?

4. I don't have EOD. But i'd like to hear about the Harbinger too.

I don't know if race really matters, but i was looking to make a Norn Necro. But if there is a better race, then I'd like to hear it.

1.  There's multiple builds for necromancer to use.  You can go with pure damage, pure conditions, or hybrid.  Minions do a low mount of damage, but they are low maintenance and have an additional utility attached to each one.

2.  Damage-wise, the Reaper is... moderate.  

3.  Scourge can do both support and damage.

4.  Harbinger does higher condition damage than any other spec, but it trades the defenses that Life Force gives with a stacking debuff to maximum health.  In a sense, it is a glass cannon.

• Like 1

1. More than a condition heavy profession, it is more of a condition management profession. This means it has the ability to transfer conditions from allies to itself, transfer conditions from itself to enemies, turn conditions into boons on self and allies and conversely can turn boons into conditions on enemies. Core necro is the weakest but also the tankiest of the specs available to necromancer. Minions are great for open world due to taking aggro off you, but yeah, their damage is terrible though they can have some utility.