class choice dilemma

Gilan.1307

So, i started playing again recently and i'm having a hard time picking a main class this time.

I tried harbinger and found it pretty boring

i mainly do open world stuff, i have separate chars for wvw or pvp

Any suggestions for what's good in open world as of the recent patch?

Any spec can work with open world, but my top right now are:

1. Vindicator - I usually play celestial condi, which is very survivable but good damage even on your own. Alliance stance gives some nice healing/stunbreak/cleanse if people are dying at world bosses, and mallyx pull and boon rip are also great utility
  2. Tempest - again celestial gear for hybrid damage and free healing and boons. Overload animations are cool, and provide alacrity. I usually run something close to a heal tempest build with celestial gear so it does decent damage and very supportive to other players
  3. Virtuoso - really fun to kite enemies into a line as almost all your attacks pierce. I Usually use celestial or rabid for extra survivability
  4. Scrapper - standard quickscrapper build, provides quickness, perma-superspeed, big personal barrier and might. A lot of fun to just zoom around, get in close and smash things with a hammer

How about sword weaver?  It doesn't seem like a popular pick, but it's not boring! 

Here's a clip of a typical pure DPS condi build, but you can use trailblazer stats if you want a lot more sustain.  You lose some burst but the damage over time is similar.

• Like 1
  • Confused 1

So let's go through all of them...

Guardian is okay between Firebrand and Willbender, which I think became "the cooler Dragonhunter" now it can use longbow.  While I haven't tried pistol Firebrand, it does look like fun.

Warrior can be suitable depending on how much carpal tunnel you want.  Berserker is really fun, but expect hand pain from it.  Bladesworn can still be fun, and Spellbreaker kinda falls in the happy medium.