Returning player; should I start over?

cheex.7863

I played GW2 several years ago and got an asura elementalist to level 80. Started playing much more casually, then stopped playing altogether. I got back in the game a couple days ago, but feeling like a complete noob again. I still want to play as an elementalist, but I was wondering if it would be better to relearn everything with a new character, or with my old level 80 character?

If you plan to PvP or WvW? Yes.. go back to the drawing board and re-learn your class.

For PvE: No, because there's nearly as many lv80 maps now as they were <lv80 maps in Core. In other words, even if you're returning to the game at the max level, you're still a newbie again (and have plenty of room to train on new maps) until you start picking up on all the content added since then, so starting over would only put you more behind and take much longer for you to get fully up-to-date with the current release cycle.

Grab some decent gear (Exotics are cheap on the TP now), make a decent build and start working on both subclasses.

I really don't see the point of re-leveling when you have the profession comfortably sitting at 80. It's not like core Tyria leveling is particularly challenging or anything, is it?

In fact, trying to get mastery levels in the giant deathtrap that is HoT maps will prove far more useful. There you actually can die - fast, easy and multiple times. If that doesn't help you get used to the profession, then going to 80 all over again won't change much.