Mounts combat

I started playing the game couple months ago. I love the implementation of mounts, but I don't understand why can't we use them more often in combat. I would love to be able to use the mounts more often while in combat, it will make the game experience so much better.So why did Anet make it to not be able to mount while in combat? Am I the only one who thinks they should remove that and give us more freedom with the use of mounts? Thanks!

they didn't want people to fight mounted all the time because it's objectively cooler and they didn't want to make the foot combat obsolete.They have to make sure the community can't go toward extremes.Still I would love a mastery called mounted combat that allowes you to combat while mounted for like 1 minutes or so, like some skills transformations, just to spice things up.Also something that would not break the meta would be adding aerial dogfights with griffons and skyskales...I was actually surprised they didn't implement anything like that in the past LS

It could also be because they wouldn't be able to simply let us use our normal skills while mounted. Some of them might work, like some of the ranged skills, but others would have to be replaced with new versions just for mounted combat. That's never been popular in this game. One reason given why some people don't like underwater combat is because they don't like having so many skills disabled or working in different ways. It's not the only issue, but it's one of them. Similarly story instances where you have to use different skills (like the Season 2 ones where you're playing Caithe) are very unpopular and cause a lot of frustration.

If I remember correctly the few places in PoF where you're given different skills make it optional, you can switch back to your normal skills at any time and just do it that way if you prefer. I doubt they'd go to the trouble of doing that and then give everyone a separate set of mounted skills to use.