I don't like this new aura system...

ROMANG.1903

I'm an elementalist main ever since I started playing 5 years agoIn every game, I've always hated additional micromanagement mechanics that brought nothing to the table.Good examples are:

• The summoned Elementals abilities that require a manual input for the elemental to do their attack, when that is a skill we want to use off cooldown anyway.
  • The conjured weapons that require us to run to them and pick them up if we want to benefit from the second charge, instead of simply having an amo system.
  • That was removed at that patch, but Magnetic Leap requiring 2 button press also bothered me.

So now we have this Aura detonation system, and I really don't know how I feel about it...It feels like the devs were looking for something to improve the Elementalist as a whole and thought "Oh, they have a lot of Auras, let's give them a thing with that!". While I think that was a good initiative, I think that they didn't handle it correctly. If we're going this way, I'd rather see some synergy between our attunement and our active Auras (Like getting a second instance of X-mancer buff depending on our active Auras?).

But back to the topic of micromanagement, what is the point of having a skill chain for a second skill that we will want to use anyway? Wouldn't it be more simple/fluid to have the detonation be the base skill, with the side effect of applying an Aura?Furthermore, with the current mechanic, if we want to get the most out our Aura, we have to watch closely the timer, and use the second skill just before the aura goes away, because using it removes the aura. There is no drawback for detonating so late. This is stressful to use...