My Mechanist Problem

BeastNHisHarlot.4865

Hello all.

I have a problem that is mostly stemming from the fact that I have been playing this game for nearly 2 years now without much of a deviation from it, but I have a mechanist problem and I believe that it is killing my ability to further enjoy the game.  What I mean by the Mechanist problem is that the Mechanist is such a multi-tool that when I branch to other classes, I feel out of place and like I'm gimping myself just to say that I am not playing Mechanist.  As a note, I almost exclusively play instanced content with my focus being raids and fractals.  I do not enjoy open world too much which may also impact how I feel about the class.

My first problem is that dps Mechanist, both condition and power, can hit above 25K without a rotation.  I love this as I cannot describe how much I loathe rotations, especially strict ones.  Sitting at the training golem for an hour trying to complete the 55-button sequence to pull of the optimal DPS rotation to hit 38k on X class is basically pulling teeth, and I much prefer the playstyle of "off-cooldown" that mechanist has.  I have tried the Low Intensity builds that some have put out to alleviate this problem; however, my problem is with complexity instead of intensity (I would love to see a surge of "rotationless" builds for DPS players from buildcrafters).

Along the same lines of DPS is the CC that Mechanist brings.  Innately, I bring 2 strong forms of CC with rifle, and I always run Throw Mine for a small DPS loss but simpler rotation (see a pattern here?) and large gain to overall CC potential while still hitting top to near top damage in PUGs.  Comparing this to other classes requires either foregoing decent CC to maintain DPS or to sacrifice DPS for more CC, thus bringing be back to gimping myself.