Suggestion: We need incentives for guarding objectives

Adantine.4269

Disclaimer: I am not a WvW expert. Also, if there's a similar suggestion already posted, I'll take this down. This is aimed towards ANET but the purpose of this thread is to pitch in some ideas to make guarding/scouting a little bit more rewarding outside of 'PLS COMM LET ME LEECH PARTICIPATION'.

Most of the time, people will take a spot and just leave it. If a tower gets under attack, people will just run there and fight off anyone that's trying to paint "HAHA LOL [World] SUCKS" graffiti on the walls. That's the WvW definition of defending. However, there are some people (see: People that loves to inflict pain upon themselves) that are willing to sit around on spots and stare at the distance for extended periods of time while ticking any sieges that may be built. These mad lads actually want to guard objectives.

Sadly, guarding is unrewarding. Literally. No rewards. As it stands now, there is no reward for guarding/scouting out unless some random enemy comes in and accidentally sneezes on one of the guards' fancy Mist jacket, triggering the 'OMG DEFEND THE OBJECTIVE!!!11!!eleven' event. We need to somehow find a way to make guarding somewhat rewarding while making sure it does not get farmed the point that WvW turns into a 'Sit on a tower' game mode.

"Hold up, why would I guard a tower like a loser? My big biceps are better at taking SMC solo."

You're sort of right, Chad. But what if a tower is T3 and someone just spammed "OMG 50000 GREENS COMING NET [Garrison Waypoint][Garrison Waypoint][Garrison Waypoint]x50"? Surely your big biceps could be used to pwn some noobs by being at the tower when the enemy zerg arrives at the tower? Element of surprise, Chad.

"Oooh. That sounds good. But do I get pips for guarding?"

Eh...No. That's the problem.

Goal of this thread: Find a way to make people actually guard/defend objectives.