Acquiring dyes.

My wife just started playing GW2 again recently and she's really interested in getting dyes. Here's the thing a lot of these prices are bonkers, we're talking some are as expensive as precursors for example so I have 2 questions.

Is there a site that lists cheaper knock off dyes that offer close approximations to some of the rare ones?

Just to give her a goal is Cooking a good profession for her to level if she wants to unlock dyes for her self or is it not worth the effort?

In any case she's a super casual player, she asks me questions about things I just take for granted and have trouble explaining so perhaps just having her save up gold for cheap knock offs might be the way to go.

PS What is a good resource, perhaps a video even that might help her get her sea legs with GW2, familiar with the features, UI even; I am a crumby teacher?

Dyealogue offers you a view about all available colors, can be sorted by categories and it shows the result color on all three possible layers, which is important to determine a replacement-color. I would sort them by hue, so you can see which result in similar colors.

Crafting the dyes yourself is a nice idea, but keep in mind that the craftable ones are gamble-dyes. If you craft a rare Unidentified Red Dye, you do not get a rare red dye out of it in many cases. You may still receive a common or uncommon dye. Another thing you have to keep in mind, some of the expensive dyes cannot be aquired from those craftable dyes.